How to Get Copies of Your Marriage Certificate: Cost and How Many You Need

Not a government website. ClerkGuide is an independent publisher. Fees and procedures below were read from each office’s own pages; confirm with the office before you pay.

After the wedding, three different documents get called a “marriage certificate”: the signed license, the record the county files, and the certified copy you order from that county. Only the last one is accepted by the Social Security Administration, the passport office and most DMVs. Couples then ask the same question again and again — how many do I need, and what will they cost? The answer depends on the county that recorded your license, so this page gives you a calculator and the verified fee and ordering details for 30 jurisdictions.

How to get a copy in four steps

  1. Find the office that issued your license. Its name is on the license. The copy comes from that county’s clerk, recorder, register of deeds or probate court, not from where you held the ceremony.
  2. Make sure the license was returned and recorded. Offices cannot issue a certified copy until the signed license is back; see return deadlines by state.
  3. Choose how to order. Most offices accept in-person, mail and online requests. Online usually adds a vendor fee, and mail usually needs a notarized form or a copy of your ID.
  4. Ask for the certified copy, not an informational one. Agencies reject informational copies, which are stamped as not valid to establish identity.

What the agencies accept, and what they hand back

The number of copies you need is smaller than most people assume, because the three agencies almost everyone deals with return your document:

  • Social Security. SSA asks for the original marriage document or a copy certified by the issuing agency. It does not accept photocopies or notarized copies, and it returns the documents you submit. SSA: documents for a Social Security card.
  • U.S. passport. The State Department requires an original or certified copy of the name-change document and returns it to you; for mail renewals it comes back in a separate mailing. State Department: change or correct a passport.
  • Driver’s license. The California DMV asks for a certified copy, rejects photocopies and informational copies, and returns documents presented at the office. Check your own state’s list, because this varies. California DMV: REAL ID checklist.

Where you need more copies is submissions that overlap in time (two mailings at once) and organizations that keep what you give them. The calculator above applies exactly that logic: one copy per overlapping mailing, one for in-person visits, one for each organization that keeps a copy, and one spare.

Certified copy fees and ordering rules by county

We read each office’s own page for these. In 24 of the 30 jurisdictions below we found at least one discrepancy or caveat on the county’s own pages — a fee that differs between two pages, two different addresses, conflicting instructions, or a similarly named product that costs something else — and we show it next to the entry instead of picking one silently. More counties are added as we verify them.

Fresno County, California

$19 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byCounty Recorder (public license) or County Clerk (confidential license)
Fee details$19 per certified copy. Fees rose on January 1, 2026; orders with the wrong fee are returned.
How to orderBy mail with a notarized application (check or money order), or online through VitalChek.
TimingNot stated.
Who can requestConfidential copies only for the parties to the marriage or by court order.
Official sources disagreeThe Recorder says your signature must be witnessed by a clerk; the Clerk's form says notarized. Ask which applies to your license type.

Source: Fresno County Recorder - Marriage Certificate · checked October 2026 · Fresno County marriage license guide

Los Angeles County, California

$19 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byRegistrar-Recorder/County Clerk
Fee details$19 per certified copy, public or confidential. A handling fee applies to online credit card orders.
How to orderOnline through VitalChek, by mail (notarized Certificate of Identity), or in person by appointment.
TimingOrders are processed within 20 working days; for 1995 to present, in-person copies are issued at the appointment.
Who can requestPublic records: a registrant or a parent/guardian of one. Confidential records: only the parties to the marriage or by court order (informational copies exist for others).

Source: LA County RR/CC - Marriage Records · checked October 2026 · Los Angeles County marriage license guide

Orange County (CA), California

$19 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byOrange County Clerk-Recorder
Fee details$19 per certified copy when requested less than a year after the license was issued. The Clerk-Recorder also advertises a pre-paid program at $17 per copy for couples who marry at its office.
How to orderBy mail with a signed and notarized form (check or money order) to P.O. Box 238, Santa Ana; online ordering must be picked up and paid for in person.
TimingMost orders are processed within 5 to 10 business days of receipt, not counting mail time.
Who can requestOnly people named on the certificate and close relatives or legal representatives; others can only get an informational copy. Only licenses issued by the Orange County Clerk-Recorder.
Official sources disagreeThe vital records page names "County of Orange" as the payee; the mail form names the Orange County Clerk-Recorder. Use the payee on the form you receive.

Source: Orange County Clerk-Recorder - Vital Records · checked October 2026 · Orange County (CA) marriage license guide

Riverside County, California

$19 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byRiverside County Assessor-County Clerk-Recorder
Fee details$19 per certified copy (effective January 1, 2026), public or confidential. Online card payments carry a 2.15% fee.
How to orderOnline with identity verification (US residents only), in person (appointment recommended; copy issued at the end of the visit), or by mail with a notarized application to P.O. Box 751, Riverside; drop boxes at three offices.
TimingOnline and mailed orders usually arrive in 2 to 3 weeks; same-day service only at an office.
Who can requestAuthorized copies need identity verification or a notarized sworn statement. Only licenses issued in Riverside County.
Official sources disagreeAn older county fee notice lists $17; the 2026 schedule and the vital records page list $19.

Source: Riverside County ACR - Vital Records · checked October 2026 · Riverside County marriage license guide

Sacramento County, California

$19 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued bySacramento County Clerk/Recorder
Fee details$19 per certified copy, public or confidential. Mail or fax orders paid by card add $6; expedited UPS delivery adds $19 (card only); online orders through VitalChek add their own fee.
How to orderIn person (about 20 minutes after submitting the application and payment), by mail or fax to 8239 East Stockton Blvd., Suite A, or online through VitalChek.
TimingRegular mail orders 5 to 7 business days from receipt; expedited orders 2 business days.
Who can requestAuthorized copies need a notarized sworn statement by mail, fax or online; others receive an informational copy marked not valid for identity. Only licenses issued in Sacramento County.

Source: Sacramento County Clerk/Recorder - Marriage Certificates · checked October 2026 · Sacramento County marriage license guide

San Diego County, California

$19 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byAssessor/Recorder/County Clerk (ARCC)
Fee details$19 per certified copy, nonrefundable even if no record is found. Online orders add a $12.95 VitalChek handling fee and an optional $19 expedited delivery fee.
How to orderIn person at the downtown San Diego, Chula Vista, Santee or San Marcos offices (not Kearny Mesa), no appointment; online through VitalChek; or by mail with a notarized sworn statement.
TimingA copy may be available about 10 business days after the office receives the license; the form advises waiting 2 weeks after the ceremony.
Who can requestRegistrant, parent or guardian, child, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse or domestic partner for non-confidential records; confidential records only the registrants or by court order. Only licenses issued in San Diego County.
Official sources disagreeAn application form dated June 2025 lists $17 per copy; the December 2025 form and the web page list $19.

Source: San Diego ARCC - Marriage Certificate Request · checked October 2026 · San Diego County marriage license guide

Broward County, Florida

$5 first copy, $3 each additional

Issued byBroward County Clerk of Courts, Marriage Division
Fee details$5 for the first copy and $3 for each additional copy per the Marriage Division page. Include a self-addressed stamped envelope for mail returns.
How to orderBy mail to 540 SE 3rd Avenue, Room 02460, Fort Lauderdale, or in person. Records from 1915 to 1997 can only be bought in person at the central courthouse location.
TimingNot stated.
Who can requestOnly licenses filed in Broward County.
Official sources disagreeThe Clerk's fee sheet lists a certified copy of a recorded marriage license at $3.00, which differs from the $5 first-copy price on the marriage page.

Source: Broward Clerk - Marriage Division · checked October 2026 · Broward County marriage license guide

Hillsborough County, Florida

$3 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byHillsborough County Clerk of Court
Fee details$3.00 per certified copy on the fee schedule. Electronic certified copies through eCertify add a $6 service fee plus the statutory $2 per document and $1 per page.
How to orderIn person, by mail, or electronically through eCertify.
TimingNot stated.
Official sources disagreeThe Marriage License FAQ says the first certified copy of a Hillsborough record is free and additional copies are $3; the fee schedule lists a flat $3.

Source: Hillsborough Clerk - Marriage and Divorce Records · checked October 2026 · Hillsborough County marriage license guide

Miami-Dade County, Florida

$9 first copy, $7 each additional

Issued byMiami-Dade Clerk of the Courts, Marriage License Bureau
Fee details$9 first copy, $7 each additional. A $2-per-year search fee is added if you do not know the marriage year.
How to orderOnline license search (licenses from 1971 on), by mail to 601 NW 1 Court, Suite 1900, or in person.
TimingNot stated by the Clerk.
Official sources disagreeAnother page on the same site lists a certified copy at $7 rather than $9.

Source: Miami-Dade Clerk - Marriage License Certified Copies · checked October 2026 · Miami-Dade County marriage license guide

Palm Beach County, Florida

$3 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byPalm Beach County Clerk & Comptroller
Fee detailsBy mail or in person, certification costs $2.00 per instrument plus $1.00 for a required cover page. Online (E-Certify) is $8 per document ($2 statutory plus $6 service) plus a 3.5% card fee.
How to orderOnline through E-Certify (delivered by email, link active 30 days), at the Records Service Center or a branch, or by mail to P.O. Box 4526, West Palm Beach with a self-addressed stamped envelope.
TimingThe Clerk says a certified copy of the license is mailed to the couple once it is recorded.
Official sources disagreeThe fee pages found are several years old; confirm current prices at 561-355-2932.

Source: Palm Beach Clerk - Marriage License Copies · checked October 2026 · Palm Beach County marriage license guide

Fulton County, Georgia

$10 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byFulton County Probate Court, Records Division
Fee details$10 per copy; all fees are non-refundable. Some Fulton pages also say the license fee includes one mailed certified copy - ask when you apply.
How to orderBy mail to 136 Pryor Street SW, 2nd Floor, Atlanta, with the Marriage Record Request form, a self-addressed stamped envelope and, on some forms, a copy of your ID.
TimingNot stated.
Who can requestOnly the couple can request a copy of the marriage application. One form says certified copies are not available for marriages before 1979.
Official sources disagreeThe current page accepts check, money order, cash or card; older forms say money order only, so a money order is the safe choice.

Source: Fulton County Probate Court - Marriage Licenses · checked October 2026 · Fulton County marriage license guide

Gwinnett County, Georgia

$10 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byGwinnett County Probate Court, Vital Records Division
Fee details$10 per certified copy.
How to orderBy mail with the Marriage Certificate Request form, a self-addressed stamped envelope, and a check or money order (75 Langley Drive, Lawrenceville).
TimingCan be requested once the court has received the original license.
Official sources disagreeSome of the fee documents are several years old; check with the court (770-822-8350) before mailing.

Source: Gwinnett Probate Court - Marriage Licenses and Certificates · checked October 2026 · Gwinnett County marriage license guide

Cook County, Illinois

$15 first copy, $4 each additional

Issued byCook County Clerk, Bureau of Vital Records
Fee details$15 first copy, $4 each additional copy of the same record. Online orders add $13.45 (VitalChek processing and standard postage).
How to orderIn person at a Clerk location, online through VitalChek, or by mail (form, photocopy of photo ID, self-addressed stamped envelope, check or money order).
TimingMail averages 20 working days; online by regular mail 10 to 15 business days, by UPS 5 to 10 days after approval.
Who can requestMail requests need a photocopy of photo ID.
Official sources disagreeAn older version of the Clerk's page listed a $12.45 online fee; the current page says $13.45.

Source: Cook County Clerk - Marriage Certificates · checked October 2026 · Cook County marriage license guide

Montgomery County (MD), Maryland

$5.5 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byMontgomery County Circuit Court, License Department
Fee details$5.50 per certified copy; plain copies $0.50. Personal checks are not accepted; card and cash only in person.
How to orderRequest form by mail to the License Department, North Tower, Room 1300, 50 Maryland Avenue, Rockville, or in person.
TimingNot stated.
Who can requestCertified copies for licenses from 1993 forward; older records come from the Maryland State Archives.
Official sources disagreeA later fee list on the same county page shows a $5 certification fee plus $0.50 per page, which differs from the $5.50 on the request form.

Source: Montgomery County Circuit Court - Marriage License · checked October 2026 · Montgomery County (MD) marriage license guide

Oakland County, Michigan

$15 first copy, $5 each additional

Issued byOakland County Clerk, Vital Records
Fee details$15 first copy, $5 each additional copy of the same record. Online orders add a service fee.
How to orderOnline, in person, or by mail. The license must have been issued in Oakland County.
TimingRegular mail 7 to 10 business days; an expedited option costs extra.

Source: Oakland County - Marriage Certificate · checked October 2026 · Oakland County marriage license guide

Wayne County, Michigan

$24 first copy, $7 each additional

Issued byWayne County Clerk, Marriage Certification Dept.
Fee details$24 first copy, $7 each additional bought at the same time.
How to orderIn person by appointment only (400 Monroe St., Suite 610, Detroit), by mail (money order or cashier's check), or online.
TimingIf your license was just mailed in, the county suggests waiting about 10 days before ordering.
Official sources disagreeThe county lists two addresses (400 Monroe St. for marriage records, 2 Woodward Ave. on the general contact page).

Source: Wayne County Clerk - Marriage Licenses · checked October 2026 · Wayne County marriage license guide

Clark County, Nevada

$20 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byClark County Clerk
Fee details$20 per certified marriage certificate (a certified abstract is also $20 but accepted only by some agencies and countries).
How to orderOnline with an account (card payment) or by mail with the request form and a money order, bank check or cashier's check to Box 551604, Las Vegas.
TimingAllow up to 3 weeks; international orders up to 6 weeks.
Official sources disagreeAn older Clark County Recorder page names the Recorder as payee and accepts company checks; use the payee on the Clerk's current form.

Source: Clark County Clerk - Ordering Marriage Certificates · checked October 2026 · Clark County marriage license guide

New York City (all five boroughs), New York

$15 first copy, $10 each additional

Issued byNYC City Clerk (borough offices; Manhattan Record Room for 1950-1995)
Fee detailsShort form $15, then $10 each. Extended form for use abroad: $35, then $30 each.
How to orderAppointment through Project Cupid (no walk-ins), or by mail to 141 Worth Street, Attn: Record Room.
TimingSame day in person; 4 to 6 weeks by mail.
Who can requestA spouse, someone with notarized permission, an attorney, or a person with a proper judicial purpose (records under 50 years).

Source: NYC311 - Marriage Record · checked October 2026 · New York City (all five boroughs) marriage license guide

Mecklenburg County, North Carolina

$10 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byMecklenburg County Register of Deeds
Fee details$10 per certified copy. You can pre-pay for one when you apply for the license, which adds $10 to the application.
How to orderBy mail with the North Carolina Marriage Certificate Copy Request form and ID, or in person at 720 E. 4th St., Charlotte.
TimingCopies can be issued only after the ceremony has happened and the office has received the signed license.
Who can requestUnder NC G.S. 130A-93: yourself, a spouse, certain relatives, or an authorized agent or attorney.

Source: Mecklenburg Register of Deeds - Uniform Fee Schedule · checked October 2026 · Mecklenburg County marriage license guide

Wake County, North Carolina

$10 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byWake County Register of Deeds
Fee details$10 per certified copy. Online orders add a $4 non-refundable convenience and card processing fee.
How to orderAt any of five Register of Deeds locations, online, or by mail with a copy of photo ID and a check or money order.
TimingOnline orders generally 1 to 2 business days after the information is complete; allow 10 to 14 business days for mailed requests.
Who can requestThe spouses, immediate family, or an authorized agent, attorney or legal representative. Only licenses issued in Wake County.

Source: Wake County Register of Deeds - Birth, Death & Marriage Certificates · checked October 2026 · Wake County marriage license guide

Cuyahoga County, Ohio

$2 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byCuyahoga County Probate Court, Marriage License Department
Fee details$2.00 per copy on the court's certified-copy request form (cashier's check or money order; personal checks refused).
How to orderUse the Certified Copy of Marriage License request form (not the general copy form), by mail with a self-addressed stamped envelope or in person; recorded records can also be requested through the web docket.
TimingCopies are not made until payment is processed.
Official sources disagreeThe web docket charges $10.00 plus a $2.00 convenience fee for a full case copy, which is a different product from the $2 marriage copy. The request form PDF may be several years old - call the court before paying.

Source: Cuyahoga Probate Court - Copies · checked October 2026 · Cuyahoga County marriage license guide

Franklin County, Ohio

$2 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byFranklin County Probate Court, Marriage Department
Fee details$2.00 per certified marriage abstract. Online orders add a $1.00 transaction fee; in-person card payments carry a 3% fee.
How to orderBy mail (cash or money order) to 373 S. High St., 22nd Floor, Columbus; in person; or online.
TimingThe court cannot issue an abstract until your officiant has returned the certification.
Who can requestOnly for licenses issued in Franklin County.
Official sources disagreeSources disagree on the floor of the Marriage Department (22nd or 23rd).

Source: Franklin County Probate Court - Certified Records · checked October 2026 · Franklin County marriage license guide

Philadelphia County, Pennsylvania

$25 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byPhiladelphia Register of Wills / Clerk of Orphans' Court
Fee details$25 per certified copy. Mail requests have also listed a $15 research fee.
How to orderRequest form by mail or in person; see the city page for the current instructions.
TimingNot stated.
Official sources disagreeA 2025 city page for REAL ID applicants lists higher money-order amounts ($40 by mail, $95 in person); the older fee schedule says $25. Confirm with the Register of Wills before paying.

Source: City of Philadelphia - Find and request a marriage record · checked October 2026 · Philadelphia County marriage license guide

Bexar County, Texas

$8 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byBexar County Clerk, Vital Statistics
Fee details$8.00 per certified copy; plain copies $2.00 each.
How to orderRequest form by mail (check or money order) to 100 Dolorosa, Suite 104, San Antonio, or in person (cash, check, money order or card).
TimingNot stated.
Who can requestMarriage licenses are public records, so anyone may request a copy. Only licenses purchased in Bexar County, wherever the ceremony took place.
Official sources disagreeThe Clerk's general certified-document FAQ lists a $5.00 certification plus $1.00 per page; the $8 figure comes from the marriage request form, which may be several years old.

Source: Bexar County Clerk - Marriage Licenses · checked October 2026 · Bexar County marriage license guide

Dallas County, Texas

$10 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byDallas County Clerk, Vital Records
Fee details$10 per certified copy. A separate $10 search fee applies to unsuccessful searches. In-person card payments carry a $3.95 surcharge.
How to orderIn person at the downtown office only, or by mail to 500 Elm St., Ste 2100, Dallas (money order only, no cash).
TimingThe county says to allow 6 to 8 weeks for mail requests; in person you receive the copy when the request is completed.
Official sources disagreeThe county FAQ says it is not currently accepting online or email requests; one page describes submitting an application online and giving the order number at the counter.

Source: Dallas County Clerk - Vital Records FAQ · checked October 2026 · Dallas County marriage license guide

Harris County, Texas

$6 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byHarris County Clerk, Public Records
Fee detailsFee schedule: $5.00 certification per document plus $1.00 per page (about $6 for a one-page license). A 4% surcharge applies to credit cards by mail.
How to orderIn person at 201 Caroline, Suite 310, Houston; by mail to P.O. Box 1525, Houston, TX 77251-1525; free watermarked copies of post-March-2003 filings online.
TimingNot stated.
Who can requestOnly licenses issued in Harris County are held; statewide searches go through Texas DSHS.
Official sources disagreeThe Clerk's marriage FAQ lists a certified copy at $7.00, which does not match the $5 + $1 schedule.

Source: Harris County Clerk - Public Records · checked October 2026 · Harris County marriage license guide

Tarrant County, Texas

$21 first copy, $11 each additional

Issued byTarrant County Clerk, Vital Records
Fee details$21 for the first copy and $11 for each additional copy bought at the same time (increase effective September 1, 2024). A $20 search fee is retained if no record is found. VitalChek adds a $10 processing fee plus delivery.
How to orderIn person at a Vital Records location, by mail to 200 Taylor St., Suite 301, Fort Worth (self-addressed stamped envelope and check or money order), or online (electronic copy by email, or a mailed signed copy through VitalChek).
TimingNot stated.
Who can requestOnly for licenses obtained and recorded in Tarrant County.
Official sources disagreeSome Tarrant pages, including the fee schedule, list additional copies at $10 instead of $11, and one page lists a different ZIP for the mailing address.

Source: Tarrant County Clerk - Certified Copy of a Marriage License · checked October 2026 · Tarrant County marriage license guide

Travis County, Texas

$6 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byTravis County Clerk, Recording
Fee details$6.00 per certified copy on the fee page. If the office does not place a recording sticker on the last page, an extra $4.00 page is added.
How to orderThrough the County Clerk Recording division; see the marriage license page for current instructions.
TimingNot stated.
Official sources disagreeThe clerk's general copy page lists a $5.00 certification plus $1.00 per page, and the marriage FAQ does not state a price. Some of these pages are more than a year old - call 512-854-9188 before paying.

Source: Travis County Clerk - Recording Fee Information · checked October 2026 · Travis County marriage license guide

Salt Lake County, Utah

$5 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued bySalt Lake County Clerk, Marriage Division
Fee details$5.00 per certified copy plus $3.00 shipping within the United States. An older Clerk FAQ also says the license fee includes two certified copies - ask when you apply.
How to orderIn person at 2001 South State Street, Suite S2-200; by phone at 385-468-7300; or by emailing a GRAMA request form for someone else's record.
TimingNot stated.
Who can requestRequesting another person's marriage license requires a GRAMA request form.
Official sources disagreeThe Health Department's vital records office issues marriage abstracts (1978 to 2010) at $25 for the first and $10 for each additional - a different product from the Clerk's certified copy.

Source: Salt Lake County Clerk - Marriage · checked October 2026 · Salt Lake County marriage license guide

King County, Washington

$3 first copy (same for each copy)

Issued byKing County Recorder's Office
Fee details$3 per certified copy.
How to orderApp or online (marriages after 1990), by phone 206-477-6620, by mail, or in person at 201 S. Jackson St., Suite 204, Seattle.
TimingMailed within about 10 business days of the request; copies are available about 10 business days after the county receives the certificate.
Official sources disagreeSome pages say certified copies can only be ordered by mail to preserve the seal; others point to the online app.

Source: King County Recorder - Marriage licensing · checked October 2026 · King County marriage license guide

Seven things the official pages don’t make obvious

  1. You can only order from the office that recorded your license. Los Angeles, San Diego, Orange (California), Wake, Franklin (Ohio) and Oakland counties will only provide copies for licenses issued by that county. If you got the license in one county and married in another, the copy still comes from the county that issued it.
  2. Nothing can be ordered until the license is back and recorded. Franklin County says it cannot issue an abstract until your officiant has returned the certification; Wayne County suggests waiting about ten days after the license is mailed back.
  3. “Confidential” licenses have a different line. In California, public and confidential marriage records are held by different offices in some counties, and confidential copies go only to the parties to the marriage, often with a notarized statement (Los Angeles, Fresno).
  4. The price structure differs more than the price. Franklin County charges $2 per abstract, Harris County charges a $5 certification fee plus $1 per page, and Cook County charges $15 for the first copy but only $4 for each additional. A “cheap” first copy can mean expensive extras, or the reverse.
  5. Online ordering usually costs more. Cook County adds $13.45 for online processing and postage, San Diego County a $12.95 handling fee, Wake County $4, and Franklin County $1.00 per transaction. Ordering in person or by mail avoids that, at the cost of time.
  6. Order everything at once. Wayne County prices extra copies at $7 only when bought at the same time as the first; Oakland and Cook price additional copies of the same record far below the first.
  7. Ask whether copies come with the license. The pages we read suggest this varies: Orange County (California) advertises a pre-paid certificate program for couples who marry at its office, and one Salt Lake County FAQ and some Fulton County pages say copies are included in the license fee. If your county does this, it can save a second payment.

If your county isn’t listed

Look up the office that issued your marriage license — the name is printed on the license — and search for its “certified copy” or “marriage record” page. Check three things before paying: the fee for the first and additional copies, whether the office takes online, mail or in-person requests, and whether it asks for a notarized application. If the county’s own page and its form disagree, call and ask, as we have done where we found conflicts. For the difference between the license and the certificate, read license vs. certificate; for name changes and other updates, see what to do after the wedding.

Frequently asked questions

How many certified copies of a marriage certificate do I need?

It depends on how many submissions overlap. Social Security, the State Department and (in California) the DMV all return your document, so a couple who does these one after another can manage with one copy plus a spare. Mailing several applications at once, or dealing with organizations that keep a copy, raises the number. The calculator above does the count for your situation.

Is a photocopy of my marriage certificate accepted?

Not by Social Security, which says it cannot accept photocopies or notarized copies, and not by the California DMV. Many other organizations will accept a plain copy, but ask first.

How long does it take to get a certified copy?

It ranges from the same day (New York City in person, with an appointment) to several weeks by mail (4 to 6 weeks for New York City; 20 working days for Cook County and Los Angeles County). You also have to wait for the license to be returned and recorded before the county can issue a copy.

Can I order a copy from a different county than where we married?

Only from the county that issued the license. Where you held the ceremony does not matter for ordering; where the license was issued does.

Plan your license dates →   What the license itself costs →