Travis County Marriage License

Not a government website. ClerkGuide is an independent publisher and is not affiliated with Travis County or any government agency. Confirm current details with the official office below before applying.

Travis County (Austin) adds a $100 non-resident surcharge if neither applicant can show proof of Texas residency — worth planning for if you’re traveling in for the ceremony.

License fee $81, reduced to $20 with a completed Twogether in Texas premarital course. A $100 surcharge applies if neither applicant has proof of Texas residency.
Waiting period 72 hours after issuance (Texas statewide rule), waivable with the premarital course.
Documents / ID required State-law-approved proof of identity for both applicants (driver’s license, state ID, passport, or similar).
License validity 90 days from the date of issuance (Texas statewide rule).
Where & how to apply Apply online or in person; both applicants must appear together at the Civil Family Courthouse, 1700 Guadalupe St., 4th Floor, Austin.
Office hours Monday–Friday, 8:00 a.m.–4:30 p.m.

Special notes

Out-of-state couples should budget for the $100 non-residency surcharge unless one applicant has Texas ID.

Certified copies in Travis County

$6 for the first certified copy (same price for each copy)

Issued byTravis County Clerk, Recording
Fee details$6.00 per certified copy on the fee page. If the office does not place a recording sticker on the last page, an extra $4.00 page is added.
How to orderThrough the County Clerk Recording division; see the marriage license page for current instructions.
TimingNot stated.
Heads upThe clerk's general copy page lists a $5.00 certification plus $1.00 per page, and the marriage FAQ does not state a price. Some of these pages are more than a year old - call 512-854-9188 before paying.

Source: Travis County Clerk - Recording Fee Information · checked October 2026 · How many copies do you need?

Official source: Travis County Clerk — https://countyclerk.traviscountytx.gov/departments/recording/marriage-license/
Last verified: August 2026

Read our general step-by-step guide →

Was this guide helpful?